top of page

In 2020, freer than ever

Updated: Jun 14, 2023





2,336 kilometres away from home...

I've decided to save and publish the title of this post that I started last January 12th and in which I was going to talk about my plans for this year (hahahahahaha) too optimistic me, right?

I had been missing here for a long time, leaving trips, ideas and adventures to tell in my infinite list of things to do. And today, finally, I got down to work and I've just made that mental click that I like so much every time I cross something off my list, in this case, the first entry of 2020 ✅

20:30 - I am writing to you from my bed. Among many of the things I wanted to do today, I wanted to decorate my balcony, change the light bulbs in my kitchen, renew my Linkedin photo and watch another Blue Planet documentary which is the only thing I've managed to get hooked on Nexflix so far. And well, yesterday I woke up with a pinched nerve in my back which I thought would go away during the day and today it's got worse hehe. Sometimes my right hand and leg fall asleep. So, re-po-si-to... But well, the Netflix documentary is no excuse 🙂

One good thing about spending so much time at home is that my to-do list is in no hurry. If it doesn't get done today, it can tomorrow. Or the day after. I'm taking it all in my stride and I'm actually doing pretty well (for now). It is true that right now I should be on a paradisiacal beach in Indonesia and not immobilised in my bed, but life puts you to the test and it has done that to all of us. And there are two options, accept it or accept it.


Three of my 4 trips of the month bye-bye, tchüss, byebye... Boston I had to come back a week earlier than planned, Indonesia I didn't even get to go and Malaga at Easter with my parents and my sister also cancelled. Yes, it made me angry at the time, but everything came with time, so I got used to it. Even before COVID-19, I knew that 4 big trips so close together in a month and a half had their risks, and I was half prepared for some of them not to go well. So nothing, I've taken it as a break from something that is going to happen and that I'm going to take it with more enthusiasm.

Disconnecting to reconnect

I think that the reason for this quarantine is not positive at all, but each one of us, after accepting the situation, can look for our own escape route and get something good out of all this. One of the things I have been thinking about since I went to Madrid at Christmas is that I felt and feel that time is passing too quickly and it is something that makes me feel overwhelmed when I think about it. I get flashbacks from 5 years ago on Facebook, Instagram. I see folders within folders hidden in my computer of photos from 7 years ago that I feel like it was yesterday, and I realise that everything passes and we are not able to assimilate the time in between. You see the photo, you teleport back to the moment and your body really feels that those 5-6-7 years haven't passed.


Well, this situation of being at home for a little while, apart from knowing that it is for everyone's safety and that there are very sad things happening outside, I have taken it as a time to ground myself, to live in the present, to slow down my routine a little. To do those things I had pending since I don't even remember when. To stop living fast for a while and to situate myself where I am. My ideas about what will come next are still as clear and uncertain and that is one of the reasons why my day-to-day life is still about flowing and dreaming for a while.


Well, I've started writing this post without a specific objective. I have many trips to tell you about, including the one to Croatia almost two years ago that I just remembered I didn't post anything here (upsssssss). And it just occurred to me what I'm going to focus this post on, to show you some of my daily hobbies - or whatever you want to call them - which I'm sure many of them coincide with yours, whether it's songs, photography, books, IG accounts, etc... I'm going to be a Patfluencer but without the unboxing.

I'm not here to give you quarantine advice, let everyone take it as they can and want. What I am going to do is to give you material and content about things that I like, that help me to distract myself, to enjoy the day. Don't feel that these days are wasted because there are many productive things to do and a lot to learn.

Trips to remember in quarantine

I'm going to start with a self-promotion, as it should be, of the posts that I enjoyed writing the most and that people liked the most:



And well, here comes the typical reflection before finishing. Over time I have learned that things never go according to plan. There is a phrase I came across recently that has become one of my favourites, because it is as true as a house: "Nothing goes according to plan, so plan on it". The Copenhagen song by Vetusta Morla would also come in handy now.

So well, I hope that in this time you will discover a lot inside and outside of yourselves, that will also make you freer in this 2020 🙂 And keep being so creative always please.

"If you are given a lined paper, write on the other side".

Juan Ramón Jiménez



3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page