top of page

My first week of Erasmus in Krakow | Poland

Updated: Jun 14, 2023

A 2.822 kilometres far from home...


To all my colleagues, friends, family... Today I'm starting to write a few lines with my first impressions here in Krakow to feel closer to home and so that those of you who are interested know how things are going and can keep track of me.

img_20170131_080347

On January 31st 2017 a new stage in my life began. My parents came to say goodbye to me at the airport, and I have to say that, although I may seem like a cold girl who never cries and blablablabla, I hate goodbyes. The moment of walking towards the airport control area and seeing how everything you have is getting further and further away... At that moment all you can think about is that everything passes quickly so that you can see them again as soon as possible. The knot in my stomach went away as soon as I got on the plane when I fell asleep until almost landing.

img_20170131_113246

Me and my friend Nico took a train back and from the station we had to walk for more than 40 minutes until we finally arrived at the hostel. The hostel is not pleasant when you have suitcases and luggage in a rather small space and, above all, when you know that until you find a flat, you are not going to move from there... The stress began!

DSC_6720.JPG

Now I am going to answer the questions that my friends and family have been asking me to make the whole week a little more concrete: What are my first impressions of the city and polish people? Even if I still feel quite lost and struggle to get back home by myself, Krakow is smaller than I thought. Here you can walk everywhere without any problems. Well yes, the bloody cold if you come in January/February.

dsc_6806

Polish people in general are lovely. Of course there is a culture shock, but I am excited to discover more the way of living, understand their gastronomy, daily life, culture, language (a bit). Hope I can get to meet more locals. The biggest blocker for now is the language barrier. Young people speak English, older people don't and you see yourself mimicking to get food in restaurants, shops, galleries. Funny though :)

dsc_6714

Have the first few days been hard?

I would be lying if I said that the first few days I was sad and it was hard for me to adapt, as happens to many people. What is true is that on the first day I was still feeling a bit homesick, but from then on, I was moving around a lot without stopping to do things, and that has helped me to feel good.

dsc_6792

Where and with whom am I going to live?

When Nico and I had only been in the hostel for a day, an advert appeared on Facebook with the most wonderful flat I have found, and from where I am writing this. We went to see it and after 5 days (yesterday) we got it! Nico is the guy with whom I did all the paperwork and he has become my new flatmate, my Erasmus mate. We are basically 24/7 together. Countdown to kill each other in 3,2,1...

dsc_6794

How cold is it in Krakow?

As soon as I arrived, I said Bah... this is not that bad. But yes, it is. Right now it's -6ºC and dropping... The key when you go outside is not to stop walking. The moment you stop you notice how your whole body is immobile and sometimes it even hurts.

dsc_6715
dsc_6741

Have I met people?

The number 1 mission of every Erasmus student is to meet people. Since we arrived on the first day, Nico and I went to Banialuka, a typical student place to drink beer for 80 cents, (our new home), and tried to meet people. Not even 5 minutes and a group of people came up to ask us questions and chat. Honestly, meeting people here is quite easy as people who come on Erasmus are open-minded and meeting people is a priority.

dsc_6801

Is the food good?

YES! Good, tasty and very cheap. It's hard to stay at home and cook when in the restaurant downstairs you can eat a good menu for 2'90€ (soup, chicken fillet, potatoes, salad and drink). I'm a big eater and sometimes I can't finish the menu.

dsc_6623

Do I notice the price of the things I buy compared to Spain?

The famous Zlotys are the currencies with which the rest of Europeans benefit a lot, but do not be fooled, things are not free and the fact of having a lot of 10 or 20 Zlotys notes that a priori you think have no value, leads you to spend much more than you think, especially in the first days.

dsc_6651

I could say that on average things are 20% cheaper than in Spain but it depends a lot on what we are talking about. Food is much, much cheaper than in Spain. And the rest is more or less the same, the rent for flats is very similar, clothes are exactly the same price as in Spain or even a bit more expensive. I'm still trying to get used to the currency exchange. Zlotys and divisions are coming out of my ears.

Have you done any activities?


dsc_6820
dsc_6859

This morning we went to Ikea, which I also count as a compulsory activity for every Erasmus. What a wonderful place 🙂 Our flat is starting to take shape...

As for the rest, I'm really looking forward to start next week at the Uni "Orientation Week" to start having a study routine, to have my class schedule, and above all to continue meeting more people.


What things have surprised me about the city?

Things that have surprised me for the good: The amount of history that Krakow has, the way of life in the whole city, the many charming places hidden in the Jewish quarter and how easy it was for me to find a flat, even though it is very difficult to find one here.

dsc_6908

Is it easy to learn Polish?

No

dsc_6900

dsc_6692

And now I say goodbye with the only two words I have learned here so far:

Dziękuję cześć!!!

3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page